Home / VIRAGO OF THE WEEK / SUBMISSION OF THE WEEK: THE DAMN CHOIR NEW RELEASE
The Damn Choir NEW Release Creatures of Habit, and On Tour Now
The Damn Choir NEW Release Creatures of Habit, and On Tour Now

SUBMISSION OF THE WEEK: THE DAMN CHOIR NEW RELEASE

the damn choir

THE DAMN CHOIR RELEASES CREATURES OF HABIT produced by Bryce Goggin (Antony and the Johnsons, Apples In Stereo, Swans, Dean & Britta). The album was recorded live to tape at Trout Studio in Brooklyn during the fall of 2013. Mastered by Fred Kevorkian (Willie Nelson, The Walkmen, The White Stripes, Iggy Pop), the album features sparkling tunes with off-kilter rhythms and warm guitar/cello accompaniment to Robertson’s rough-hewn vocals, delivered with a slight quaver that belies his heartache.

Standout tracks include the title track “Radiator” and “Violet.” “Violet” was originally written as a punk rock song, as punk rock as The Damn Choir can get. The Damn Choir is Gordon Robertson on vocals and acoustic guitar, Katy Myers on cello, Otis “The Bearded Angel” Duffy on electric guitar, bassist Brandon Stein, keyboardist Gwen Klemenz, percussionist Jack McClain and drummer Marty Kane. Robertson formed the band in 2009, the year after moving to Chicago from Cleveland.

Creatures of Habit by the Damn Choir comes out on February 7th and they will celebrate in the traditional fashion: by touring. The kick off show in Chicago takes place at the Hideout that evening before they hit the road. The first video for the title track is out and features some pretty terrific footage of the band rocking in a really beautiful ruined church.

Tour Dates
Fri Feb 7 Chicago, IL The Hideout
Sat Feb 8 Grand Rapids, MI Mulligans
Sun Feb 9 Ypsilanti, MI Woodruff’s
Mon Feb 10 Detroit, MI PJ’s Lager House
Tue Feb 11 Toledo, OH Frankie’s Inner City
Wed Feb 12 Cleveland, OH Grog Shop
Thu Feb 13 Buffalo, NY Gypsy Parlor
Fri Feb 14 Binghamton, NY The Lost Dogs
Sat Feb 15 Boston, MA The Midway Cafe
Sun Feb 16 Providence, RI Parlour
Mon Feb 17 New Haven, CT Anna Liffey’s
Tue Feb 18 New York, NY Arlenes Grocery
Wed Feb 19 Brooklyn, NY The Rock Shop
Thu Feb 20 Philadelphia, PA JR’s
Fri Feb 21 Baltimore, MD Club K
Sat Feb 22 Washington, DC The Pinch
Sun Feb 23 Charlottesville, VA The Whisky Jar
Mon Feb 24 Charlotte, NC Crown Station
Tue Feb 25 Athens, GA Caledonia Lounge
Thu Feb 27 Nashville, TN The End
Fri Feb 28 Hot Springs, AR Maxine’s Live
Sat Mar 1 Little Rock, AR Stickyz
Sun Mar 2 St. Louis, MO Lemmons
Tue Mar 4 Lawrence, KS The Relay
Tue Mar 18 Kansas City, MO Davey’s
Wed Mar 19 Lexington, KY TBA
Thu Mar 20 Louisville, KY New Vintage
Fri Mar 21 Indianapolis, IN Melody Inn

About Jessica Fisher-Willson

Jessica Fisher-Willson
Jes (Arts & Independent Music Editor) is a nerd girl who needs constant validation. To this end she invented White Light Tarot TM, a reiki-tarot deck that validates one's concerns and helps balance one's energy. It is available as an online app, a download for free, or as a book and tarot deck available for purchase from Amazon, Barnes & Nobles, and White Light Tarot's website, as well as finer independent New Age purveyors. Mostly she is writing fiction as fast as she can and learning to be socially media-phoric. http://jessicafisherwillson.com/

Check Also

An enriched online arts project created and curated by SnowSkull.

Submission Pick Of The Week

‘All Great Thoughts Are Conceived By Walking’ Matthew Evans aka SnowSkull has brought an ambitious …

%d bloggers like this: