vəˈräɡō/: a woman of strength or spirit; a female warrior.

Catch The Lovers On Tour This Fall

Cue the pyrotechnics. From their website, it says: “The three first encountered in 2002 after Berk’s near-fatal van explosion while on tour with an earlier incarnation of the band.” How cool is that? It’s like an kickass origin story for a super hero trio. And within the feminist community maybe Lovers is just that. They write songs that let you cry your heart out or might just inspire you to dance through it or drunk dial your girlfriend. Carolyn Berk, singer, and the mainstay in the band, since its inception, writes most of their material. This current version of the Lovers has seen its way to making two records. Their newest release on Badman records, “A Friend In The World,” is a seasoned second for the trio. Emily Kingan and Kerby Ferris make up the rest of the band. Berk and Ferris met in San Paulo, and it would seem may have been influenced by Argentine Wave, since their music can have a palpable pulsing trance quality to it. Berk calls Portland home, but made Somerville her home once, so come out and support the peeps from the hood. Whether you call it “heartfelt bedroom-pop” as Pitchfork has called it, or “queer synth-rock” as The New Gay has called it, the music is a well produced, professional and worth a listen.

the_lovers

Catch them on tour this fall supporting their new release “A Friend In The World.”

http://www.loversarelovers.com/store/music/a-friend-in-the-world/

Sat Oct 5, 2013 Seaside OR @ EDEN PNW
Fri Oct 18, 2013 Pittsburgh, PA @ BrilloBox (Operation Sappho)
Sat Oct 19, 2013 Buffalo, NY @ Ambush! (Duke’s Bohemian Groove Bar)
Sun Oct 20, 2013 Providence, RI @ Machine with Magnets
Mon Oct 21, 2013 Boston @ the Middle East
Tue Oct 22, 2013 Burlington VT @ Nectars
Wed Oct 23, 2013 Philadelphia PA @ Kung Fu Necktie
Thu Oct 24, 2013 Richmond, VA @ The Camel
Fri Oct 25, 2013 Durham NC @ Pinhook
Sat Oct 26, 2013 Baltimore, MD @ Club K
Sun Oct 27, 2013 Brooklyn NY @ Glasslands
Thu Oct 31, 2013 Berlin Germany @ Südblock www.suedblock.org

Fri Nov 1, 2013 Copenhagen DK @ TBA
Sat Nov 2, 2013 Stockholm Sweden @ we need help!
Sun Nov 3, 2013 Oslo Norway @ Café Mir www.lufthavna.no/cafe-mir
Mon Nov 4, 2013 Göteborg Sweden @ TBA
Tue Nov 5, 2013 Malmö – SE @ STPLN http://stpln.se/
Thu Nov 7, 2013 Hamburg Germany @ Centro Sociale http://www.centrosociale.de
Fri Nov 8, 2013 Bremen, German @ Die Friese http://diefriese.de/
Sat Nov 9, 2013 Amsterdam, Netherlands @ OCCII www.theopenseries.wordpress.com
Sun Nov 10, 2013 Brussels, Belgium @ TBA
Tue Nov 12, 2013 Who: LOVERS Cologne -DE @ AZ http://az-koeln.org/
Wed Nov 13, 2013 Stuttgart – DE @ Contain’t e.V.
Thu Nov 14, 2013 Paris FR @ TBA
Fri Nov 15, 2013 Paris France @ TBA
Sat Nov 16, 2013 Nantes, France @ Queerdrome www.queerodrome.com/
Sun Nov 17, 2013 Toulouse France @ TBA
Mon Nov 18, 2013 San Sebastian Spain @ TBA
Tue Nov 19, 2013 Bilbao Spain @ TBA
Wed Nov 20, 2013 Madrid Spain @ TBA
Thu Nov 21, 2013 Barcelona Spain @ TBA
Sat Nov 23, 2013 Grenoble, France @ TBA
Sun Nov 24, 2013 Bern Switzerland @ Flurstrasse 14a Sonntags Brunch mit LOVERS
Mon Nov 25, 2013 Zurich Switzerland @ Autonomer Beautysalon http://autonomerbeautysalon.wordpress.com/
Tue Nov 26, 2013 Innsbruck, Austria @ Café DeCentral
Wed Nov 27, 2013 Graz – A @ Postgarage
Thu Nov 28, 2013 Munich, Germany @ Kafé Kult http://www.kafekult.de
Fri Nov 29, 2013 Leipzig Germany @ Connewitz
Sat Nov 30, 2013 Berlin, German @ ://about blank

Wed Dec 11, 2013 San Francisco @ Bottom of the Hill
Thu Dec 12, 2013 Los Angeles @ TBA
Fri Dec 13, 2013 Long Beach, CA @ Que Sera
Sat Dec 14, 2013 Superior, AZ @ Magma
Sun Dec 15, 2013 Tucson @ Solar Culture
Mon Dec 16, 2013 Las Vegas @ Artifice http://artificebar.com + https://www.facebook.com/ArtificeBar.
Tue Dec 17, 2013 San Diego @ Tin Can
Wed Dec 18, 2013 Los Angeles @ The Smell
Thu Dec 19, 2013 Oakland @ TBA
Fri Dec 20, 2013 Sacramento @ Bows & Arrows

About Jessica Fisher-Willson

Jessica Fisher-Willson
Jes (Arts & Independent Music Editor) is a nerd girl who needs constant validation. To this end she invented White Light Tarot TM, a reiki-tarot deck that validates one's concerns and helps balance one's energy. It is available as an online app, a download for free, or as a book and tarot deck available for purchase from Amazon, Barnes & Nobles, and White Light Tarot's website, as well as finer independent New Age purveyors. Mostly she is writing fiction as fast as she can and learning to be socially media-phoric. http://jessicafisherwillson.com/
%d bloggers like this: